What is Polygamy?

I don’t know how useful this blog will be to anyone else, but maybe it will help me organize my thoughts. Last month my husband talked to me about polygamy. We were in bed about ready to have our couple’s scripture study. He said we were going to read something a little different tonight. He opened the scriptures to D&C 132 and we read it together.

When we were finished he gave me a hug and told me that he believed that section was true. I didn’t really understand what he was trying to tell me. Then he told me point blank that he believed we needed another wife in our family.

Those words hurt me so much. I thought, That’s not how it’s supposed to work. He’s only supposed to love me. That night I was so upset I cried.

I wondered why I wasn’t enough. What had I done wrong? Why didn’t I deserve all the love of my husband. If I’ll be honest I thought about leaving my husband.

I was so upset, I didn’t talk to him for the rest of the week.  But during that week he was very kind and loving to me. I think he knew he hurt my feelings.

During the past month I’ve been trying to research polygamy. I think the most people only know about polygamy is that Abraham, and Jacob practiced it in the Bible.

I’m wondering if any of you other ladies out there have gone through this? If your husband has approached you about polygamy, how did it go? How did you handle the situation? I need advice.

Leave a comment